How important is the way a man dresses?

Obviously the way a man dresses is gonna affect how you see him, it says what type of person he is, but until what point does attractiveness affect how critical you are to the way he dresses?
Lets say the man is extremely handsome, but he dresses sloppy, with sweatpants, an overly-used hoodie, and some dirty shoes.

How would you view this guy? And how different would you view a man that is not so attractive, average, or ugly?
If he approaches you, would you accept or decline, given that he was a gentleman and respectful towards you?

Updates:
I asked this cause as a student I don't have the money to buy the best clothes, and even though I always look presentable, I know I could look better if only I had the money, so I wonder how much does that affect the way other women see me (I'm not the guy I describes in the question, that's just an example).

0|0
12|6

Most Helpful Girl

• If a man was very handsome but wore the clothes you juwt described I'd be like what a pitty he looks so good but those clothes... He's not presentable. This has happened many times. In fact his sloppy appearance will affect his handsome face and his body will be hidden under those ugly clothes.
    On the other hand if a guy is just average or even a tad bit under average but knows how to dress appropriately I won't even notice his less than perfect features. It's the whole package that counts. I'll be impressed by how he takes good care of himself. I mean for some unknown reason I even look at a guy's shoes to determine how used the heel of his shoes are...

0|2
    0|0
    • So you do give a lot of importance to the way a man dresses.
      I asked this cause as a student I don't have the money to buy the best clothes, and even though I always look presentable, I know I could look better if only I had the money, so I wonder how much does that affect the way other women see me (I'm not the guy I describes in the question, that's just an example).