How long is too long to wait for a proposal?

Hi everyone,

I have been in a 9 year relationship with my boyfriend. We started dating in high school and I am 27 years old now.

We have talked about marriage and our future many times. My boyfriend assures me that he wants to marry me but that he needs to get his life together I. e. Finish grad school before getting married. I have tried to be patient, especially because I have my Masters already and I understand his motivation to succeed first hand.

But waiting is hard. I am starting to feel old and like I've spent most of my youth waiting for him already. I have also realized that I am dropping my dream wedding ideas as time goes by- I have sometimes thought of a quick Vegas wedding instead of the romantic ceremony I always dreamed of. I have also started to feel like I won't believe his proposal is sincere when it comes.

You see, I have talked to him about how I feel and he tells me he feels pressured and like I don't believe his love for me. I now feel like marriage is a touchy subject.

I have considered moving on many times, especially when people tell me I waited long enough and that he will not propose... but he is my best friend and I love him. In a way I also feel like I'd hate losing the time we invested in our relationship.

Does anyone have a word of advice?

Thank you.

0|0
16|10

Most Helpful Guy

• My advice would be to not get married then.

If you love him and are happy with him, then it shouldn't matter if you are married. You said you even thought about a quick Vegas wedding which means you are okay in not indulging a complete bullshit princess fantasy.

I honestly don't get this logic. You feel old and that you've spent your youth waiting? Waiting for what? He's been in your life, loving you for TEN YEARS. You guys weren't separated by war or whatever. You've lived your life in essentially the exact same way you would have.