Why are books like ‘Lolita’ so misinterpreted?

Societalmess

Hi I’m SocietlMess, call me Andromeda or Anne. Today I wanna discuss as to why books like Lolita are so misinterpreted. I would like to hear everyone else’s opinions as well on this:

For those of you who don’t know, Lolita is a classic novel and film about a girl named Lolita, obviously. This book and film however quickly sets itself apart from most as it discusses something strange, pedophilia.

“Lolita is a 1955 novel written by Russian-American novelist Vladimir Nabokov. The novel is notable for its controversial subject: the protagonist and unreliable narrator, a middle-aged literature professor under the pseudonym Humbert Humbert, is obsessed with a 12-year-old girl, Dolores Haze, with whom he becomes sexually involved after he becomes her stepfather. "Lolita" is his private nickname for Dolores.” -Wikipedia

Not only does this pedophile have the same names for his first and last name, but he’s as listed an “unreliable narrator”
Lolita is a commentary on pedophilia, and shows why it’s bad and a terrible thing. And people think it’s a romance novel. I’m not joking right now, there’s people who believe it’s a romance novel. And some people even use it to justify pedophilia.

There’s one scene in the movie that really puts into perspective how Humbert is misinterpreting what’s happening, and trying to justify himself for sexually abusing a child. In one scene Lolita threatens to tell others he raped her.

It’s literally spoon fed to you like you’re a baby that humbert is just trying to justify himself.

And if I am correct later in the story Lolita wants nothing to do with him, I could very well be wrong on this. But I was told this by someone who likes the book and movies made about it.

In fact this book was written when the author was told to write about something he doesn’t like.

Why do people use this to justify pedophilia, or believe it’s a romance novel? When it’s so clear it’s the opposite, and is actually going against the topic entirely.
Why are books like ‘Lolita’ so misinterpreted?
Updates:
1 mo
I have no clue why it’s under the topic break up and divorce, I literally chose entertainment and the arts.
Why are books like ‘Lolita’ so misinterpreted?
16
5
Add Opinion