Are you rude to attractive people?

People are always going on about how pretty I am and I always get nice compliments from co-workers, friends, relatives, but when it comes to strangers...9 times out of 10 I find them incredibly rude to me...and more so than others.

For example, I work in retail and I have had so many female customers be so rude to me without any instigation and then turn around and be incredibly friendly to another female co-worker who is very overweight. ect.

I just have noticed this to be a running theme in my life and it's really annoying.

I'm assuming it's because people are intimidated or they automatically assume I'm a bitch just because I look nice.

Do you find yourself doing this or getting treated like this?

0|0
6|6

Most Helpful Guy

• No. I don't agree with judging someone from their appearance - but it is instinct and represented in most society's, because people seem to have a different appearance or behavior that is commonly judged as the 'social norm' within society (otherwise referred as culture).

The 'social norm' is just a deemed expectation of people's appearances or behaviors etc, because the majority of people in that society follow that expectation.

When people don't behave within the boundaries of that exception, they are judged for it; usually criticized in a negative way.

Now the situation your explaining appears to be either personal assumption of character from physical appearance - through association (being that maybe the female that was so rude to you has associated negative feelings for someone who dresses or holds the same features or general presence as you do), and therefore gave a negative vibe and behavior in response to that association.

Or just plain jealousy lol.

Didn't know being so attractive came at a price.

That makes me appreciate my un-attractiveness lol.