My roommate is pregnant and I'm a grad student. Help?

My roommate and her "boyfriend" of 3 months broke up the day I moved in (August 2nd). A couple weeks later, she found out she was pregnant, and now they're getting married before he deploys to Korea in December for a year. After that, she plans to go to Japan with him and the baby (his next assignment). She thinks that because he's the nicest guy she's dated and that she's 32 and might not be able to have another kid later are good reasons to marry this guy she barely knows and keep the baby, but I think she's being very immature and irresponsible about it.

I think she expects me to switch bedrooms with her since mine is bigger and hers can't fit a lot of baby stuff. When I signed the lease, I wasn't signing on for a baby too and I don't think it's right for me to have to sacrifice any more than I know I'll have to (quiet for sleep and studying). It would also take a lot of work because I'd have to paint over the obnoxious orange paint in her room, and get carpet taken out of my room that she wouldn't want to keep... only to give her and the baby this room for 6 months or so until I got a new roommate.

I don't want to leave this apartment unless it's completely necessary, because it's the best priced and best location I could find for school. I don't have my own car now so I have to be within walking distance or close to the bus route for school/internships. It's also my grandparents who are paying my rent and school bills right now, so any cost increase from moving or moving expenses would come from them. I really think my roommate is being stupid and selfish with this whole situation, not just for me, but for herself. I don't know what to do or what the right step is to take. I need to keep the peace in my home for my sanity, but she needs a wake up call.

0|0
0|5

Most Helpful Guy

• Aw Kassie, sorry to hear about such a turn of events right after you just moved in. =(