Online dating...are girls really that picky?

So I've been single for a year, I've been doing some dating but haven't found someone who's into me yet. I've been trying online dating because my job really doesn't put me in touch with many females (I'm a computer programmer) and most of my friends are married so they don't go out anymore.

Anyway one thing that bugs me is that I hear this from friends and girls I date:

"You're a handsome guy"

"You're really attractive"

"Looks and resume you're a 10"

So I get all this from friends and girls but I feel like I can't even get my foot in the door online, like I write to someone online and never get a response back. And I'm not just writing to everyone I see, I always read someone's profile and if they sound like we'd click, then I write... but yeah, no response.

Or maybe online dating is just like that? Are girls always this picky in person or is it just an online thing? I should probably find more ways of being out and about so I can test this, hahaha...

0|1
8|1

Most Helpful Girl

• Online, girls are way pickier than in real life. Why? Because if a guy doesn't fit exactly what she wants, she can just click the next button and there's a new guy for her to look at. Having many options at your fingertips causes people to be more picky. Also, when you're dating in real life, women experience emotions. We can't really help it. That's why girls develop crushes on guys that other guys can't understand. She may have a perfect list of a man she wants, but the guy she ends up with may not fit half of those criteria. Because in person, it's all about chemistry and attraction. We can develop feelings for guys we never would've expected when writing our preferences down on paper.