Girls, can a slightly overweight guy get a girlfriend or is it impossible?

I'm a 23 year old student at university. I am very active and love sports like I'll easily do a half - marathon but I also love to cook and eat. That's why even though I'm on a great fitness level I have about 30 pounds to much on the ribs.

I don't like the way it looks and that's why I'm getting rid of it but doing so sustainably takes a long time for me.

I'm wondering if I can still date before I am in perfect shape. I've never met a girl who seemed interested besides one girl who wanted to bang anyone above 6'0 ( I didn't fyi ;) )

In my mind it's absolutely pointless to approach girls, cause funny enough I'm usually attracted to the pretty skinny girls who probably don't want me.

Do you think I should try to date or just try to make friends until I've lost all my weight? ( I don't wanna be known at uni as the disgusting fat dude who hits on girls and doesn't get the hint)

0|0
12|3

Most Helpful Girl

• Girls, can a slightly overweight guy get a girlfriend or is it impossible?
    A slightly overweight guy can get a girlfriend whether it's a gf he wants is a toss up as I find guys tend to want those (far) more attractive than themselves.

Do you think I should try to date or just try to make friends until I've lost all my weight?
    In my opinion it's suited to do both. As you're a heterosexual male in my opinion you have far more advantages in this regard as you're seemingly held to a much lower beauty/fitness standard and more likely to get a pretty skinny gal for sex/dates/relationships than if you were a slightly overweight guy wanting a hot fit guy.

2|0
    0|0
    • Honestly, in my experience the standards for guys aren't any lower. Look at me I have no chance in hell with girls so far and I'm not that fat. But I get your point it's not fair to like a pretty girl and expect her to settle for me. I just can't control who I like.